UK Term Dates · Independent schools map

Barnard Castle School

Independent school · County Durham

AddressNewgate, Barnard Castle, DL12 8UN
Ages4–19
Pupils558
GenderMixed
BoardingBoarding school
Religious characterChristian
Phone01833690222
Websitehttps://www.barnardcastleschool.org.uk/

Term dates

Source: school website · checked 2026-10-16

Subscribe in your calendarAdd to Google CalendarDownload .ics

2026-27

TermStartsEnds
Michaelmas 1Tue 8 Sep 2026Fri 16 Oct 2026
Michaelmas 2Mon 2 Nov 2026Wed 16 Dec 2026
Lent 1Thu 7 Jan 2027Fri 12 Feb 2027
Lent 2Mon 22 Feb 2027Wed 24 Mar 2027
Trinity 1Thu 15 Apr 2027Fri 28 May 2027
Trinity 2Mon 7 Jun 2027Sat 3 Jul 2027

Exeats: Sat 26 Sep 2026 to Sun 27 Sep 2026, Sat 21 Nov 2026 to Sun 22 Nov 2026, Sat 23 Jan 2027 to Sun 24 Jan 2027, Sat 1 May 2027 to Mon 3 May 2027

INSET days: Thu 3 Sep 2026, Fri 4 Sep 2026, Tue 5 Jan 2027, Wed 6 Jan 2027, Wed 14 Apr 2027

Senior School new pupils induction day Mon 7 Sep 2026; boarders return the evening before each start. Half terms begin Friday after school (5.10pm buses). Trinity term ends Sat 3 Jul 2027; Prep School ends after Sports Day Fri 2 Jul. May exeat includes May Day.

2027-28

TermStartsEnds
Michaelmas 1Tue 7 Sep 2027Fri 15 Oct 2027
Michaelmas 2Mon 1 Nov 2027Sat 11 Dec 2027
Lent 1Thu 6 Jan 2028Fri 11 Feb 2028
Lent 2Mon 21 Feb 2028Fri 24 Mar 2028
Trinity 1Wed 19 Apr 2028Fri 26 May 2028
Trinity 2Mon 5 Jun 2028Sat 8 Jul 2028

Exeats: Sat 25 Sep 2027 to Sun 26 Sep 2027, Sat 20 Nov 2027 to Sun 21 Nov 2027, Sat 22 Jan 2028 to Sun 23 Jan 2028, Sat 29 Apr 2028 to Mon 1 May 2028

INSET days: Thu 2 Sep 2027, Fri 3 Sep 2027, Tue 4 Jan 2028, Wed 5 Jan 2028, Tue 18 Apr 2028

Senior School new pupils induction day Mon 6 Sep 2027. Michaelmas ends Sat 11 Dec 2027 (12.15pm buses); Prep School finishes Fri 10 Dec. Trinity ends Sat 8 Jul 2028; Prep School ends after Sports Day Fri 7 Jul.

Fees

Fees per term (including VAT).

Year groupFee
Pre-Prep (Reception to Year 2) total incl. VAT and lunch£4,301.00
Prep (Year 3 to Year 6) total incl. VAT and lunch£6,359.00
Senior Day (Year 7 to Year 13) total incl. VAT and lunch£7,946.60
British Senior Boarder (Year 7 to Year 13) total£15,302.60
International Senior Boarder (Year 7 to Year 13) total£17,702.60

Academic year not stated on the page. Termly fees before VAT: Pre-Prep £3,260.00, Prep £4,975.00, Senior Day £6,233.00, British boarder £12,363.00, international boarder £14,363.00; lunch £389/£467. Registration fee and acceptance deposit amounts not stated. 10% remission for non-CEA forces families.

Source: school fees page

Admissions

Entry points: Reception, Year 3, Year 7, Year 10, Year 12

Academically non-selective. Enquire, attend an Open Event or private visit, then complete the Registration Form and fee with passport and latest school report. The child is invited to an Experience Day with assessments and an interview with the Headmaster or senior leader; offers come with a Parent Contract and acceptance deposit. Mid-year entry considered.

Offers scholarships and bursaries.

Source: school admissions page

School bus routes

RouteAreas servedFirst pick-up
Route 1 Darlington (Hodgsons Coaches)Darlington, Low Coniscliffe, Merrybent, Piercebridge, Gainford07:50
Route 2 Eaglescliffe / Hurworth / Scotch Corner (Hodgsons Coaches)Eaglescliffe, Hurworth, Scotch Corner
Route 3 Newton Aycliffe (Hodgsons Coaches)Newton Aycliffe
Route 4 Durham/ Bishop Auckland (Hodgsons Coaches)Durham, Bishop Auckland
Route 5 Catterick/Richmond (Hodgsons Coaches)Catterick, Richmond
Route 6 Wolviston /Wynyard /Coatham Munderville (Barnard Castle School)Wolviston, Wynyard, Coatham Munderville
Route 7 Stanhope (Weardale Motors)Stanhope
Route 8 Kirkby Stephen/Brough (Barnard Castle School)Kirkby Stephen, Brough
Route 9 Ripon /Leeming Bar (Barnard Castle School)Ripon, Leeming Bar

Cost: Termly by zone from 1 September 2026, e.g. Senior Michaelmas full pass Zone 1 £557.35 to Zone 6 £810.00; Prep Michaelmas Zone 1 £486.70 to Zone 6 £697.50; single bus chit £8.00-£12.00

Source: school transport page

School details from the Department for Education's register (Open Government Licence). Term dates from the school's own published calendar; always confirm with the school.